“The Council extended EU restrictive measures against the Syrian regime until 1 June 2018,” the bloc said in a written statement.

“This decision is in line with the EU strategy on Syria, which states that the EU will maintain its restrictive measures against the Syrian regime and its supporters as long as the repression of civilians continues,” it said.

An oil embargo, an asset freeze of the Syrian central bank, restrictions on certain investments, export restrictions on technology and equipment are among the sanctions in place against Syria.

According to the Council, three Syrian ministers were also added to the list of those under EU restrictions.

“It now includes 240 persons and 67 entities targeted by a travel ban and an asset freeze over the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria,” it said.

More than 250,000 people have been killed since the civil war in Syria erupted in March 2011, according to the UN. The Syrian Center for Policy Research puts the death toll at more than 470,000.

Anadolu Agency