G7 announces sanctions on Russia, pledges continued support for Ukraine

| Last update :

The G7 Foreign Ministers reached a unanimous consensus to sustain and strengthen their robust support for Ukraine, while concurrently imposing rigorous economic sanctions on Russia

G7 announces sanctions on Russia, pledges continued support for Ukraine

Russia will be deprived of technology, industrial equipment, and services to support them in the war,  G7 Ministers said in the statement following the summit.

The meeting of foreign ministers from G7 member countries, hosted by Japan, the 2023 Term President, is currently taking place in the capital Tokyo. Japanese Foreign Minister Kamikawa Yoko presides over the meeting, which includes the foreign ministers of the United States, Canada, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom, and France.

During the "Ukraine" session, G7 Ministers reached a consensus to continue providing substantial support to Ukraine and impose stringent economic sanctions on Russia. They also reaffirmed their commitment to accelerating the medium- and long-term reconstruction efforts in Ukraine, which has been under Russian aggression since February 2022.

In their statement, the ministers expressed their unwavering support for Ukraine and their commitment to stand by the nation in the face of Russia's unlawful and unjustified aggression.


The Russia-Ukraine war has been ongoing for 622 days since it began on Feb. 24, 2022, following Russian President Vladimir Putin's televised announcement of a "special military operation in Ukraine" in the early hours of that morning. According to data from the United Nations (UN) High Commissioner for Human Rights as of Oct. 9, 2023, the conflict has resulted in casualties, with 9,806 civilians losing their lives and 17,962 sustaining injuries between the commencement of hostilities and Oct. 8, 2023.

Source: Anadolu Agency


WARNING: Comments that contain insults, swearing, offensive sentences or allusions, attacks on beliefs, are not written with spelling rules, do not use Turkish characters and are written in capital letters are not approved.