Sweden's membership protocol to NATO to be discussed in Turkish Parliament

2023-11-14 15:09:31 | Last Update : 2023-11-14 16:02:18

The Turkish Grand National Assembly's Foreign Affairs Committee is set to discuss the bill on Sweden's NATO accession protocol on Nov. 16, a crucial step in determining the country's membership in the alliance

Sweden's membership protocol to NATO to be discussed in Turkish Parliament

The Foreign Affairs Committee of the Grand National Assembly of Turkiye will discuss the draft law on the approval of the ratification of the protocol onSweden's accession to NATO on Thursday.

The committee, which will convene under the chairmanship of the ruling Justice and Development Party‘s (AK Party) Ankara MP Fuat Oktay, will discuss the proposed law on Sweden's accession protocol to NATO.

The proposal reminded that Finland's protocol of accession was ratified by Turkiye and that Finland joined NATO on April 4, 2023.

"The status of Sweden's fulfillment of its commitments arising from the Trilateral Memorandum was discussed at the fourth and fifth meetings of the Permanent Joint Mechanism on June 14 and July 6, 2023, and the matter was last reviewed at the meeting held on July 10, 2023, before the NATO Summit in Vilnius," the protocol said, reminding that Sweden presented a roadmap for the implementation of its commitments to Turkiye at the highest level and committed to supporting Turkiye's European Union process robustly.

Finland and Sweden applied for NATO membership soon after Russia launched a war in Ukraine in February 2022.

Türkiye previously approved Finland's membership to NATO but had said it was waiting for Sweden to abide by a trilateral memorandum signed in June 2022 to address Ankara's security concerns.

Turkish officials have repeatedly stressed that it is up to Turkish lawmakers to decide on ratifying Sweden's accession.

Source: Newsroom

WARNING: Comments that contain insults, swearing, offensive sentences or allusions, attacks on beliefs, are not written with spelling rules, do not use Turkish characters and are written in capital letters are not approved.