G20 accepts African Union as permanent member

| Last update :

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced at the bloc summit in New Delhi on Saturday that the African Union has become a permanent member of the G20, which is made up of the world's richest and most powerful countries. Thus, the G20 recognized the African Union (AU) as a permanent member.

G20 accepts African Union as permanent member

The African Union (AU) became the new permanent country of the G20, which consists of the world's richest and most powerful countries, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi said at the summit of the bloc organized in the Indian capital New Delhi.

In his opening speech at the summit, Modi invited the African Union, represented by President Azali Assoumani, to take a seat at the G20 leaders' table as a permanent member.

This proposal was made by Modi in June.

Other issues to be decided at the summit include increased lending to developing countries by multilateral institutions, reforming the international debt architecture, regulations on cryptocurrencies, and the impact of geopolitics on food and energy security.

The "geopolitical situation" paragraph was left blank in the 38-page draft circulated among members. Reflecting deep division over the war in Ukraine - 75 other paragraphs point to broad agreement on issues such as cryptocurrencies and reforms to multilateral development banks.

The G20 previously consisted of 19 countries and the European Union, with members representing around 85 percent of global GDP, more than 75 percent of global trade, and around two-thirds of the world's population.

Source: Ihlas News Agency

WARNING: Comments that contain insults, swearing, offensive sentences or allusions, attacks on beliefs, are not written with spelling rules, do not use Turkish characters and are written in capital letters are not approved.